Tags

A fast paced story, a story of Lord Shiva from humble beginnings of a Tibetan tribal chief to become the God of all Gods – Mahadev. The story gripped me from the very beginning to the end and kept me wanting for more.

Even if Amish Tripathi has set the story, keeping in view that his characters are as imaginably human as possible, he brilliantly intertwines Hindu beliefs within. This fantasy story opens as a scientific depiction of the myths that we have already heard. For instance, Somras here is actually the fabled Amrit. Besides, there are many and such similar and clever innuendos which you will catch and enjoy putting it together as I did, when I read the story the first time.

If I start describing the brilliance of the writer and his imagination, I would probably end up giving you a large chunk of the story itself. This will be a huge injustice if you have not read the story and reading the review before you read the story.

The story is racy, catchy from the beginning to the end, and this is because of the mysteries that are hidden, because of the characterization done and because you could identify and agree with a lot of overtones and references, if you imagine Mahadev as commoner, who once took the journey and the choices for which he is fabled now. Writer Amish Tripathi actually takes a dig on a hidden assumption in our mind that if two civilization different from one another confront each other, they will be regarding each other evil.

I can only say that when I sat down with The Immortals of Meluha, I made sure I had the second part, The Secret of the Nagas handy. I am eagerly awaiting the third to know what more Amish Tripathi has to offer in terms of his imagination. I want to know more ….

There are theories from my side that I have put in, in my mind and want to make sure that Amish Tripathi surpasses them when he writes. I am sure he will. He is of course as ‘Society’ describes him – “The author taking myth and contemporising it, raising questions about all that we hold true and familiar. The book is (a) marvellous attempt to create fiction from folklore, religion and archaeological facts.” – “The Immortals of Meluha… sees Lord Shiva and his intriguing life with a refreshing perspective… beautifully written creation… Simply unputdownable for any lover of Indian history and mythology.”